Tuesday, 24 April 2012

Beyond Representation Conference: Programme Announced

Beyond Representation: Photography, Humans & Computers

24—25 May 2012

Centre for Media & Culture Research, London South Bank University
in association with the journal Philosophy of Photography

Keynote speakers:
- David Cubby (University of Western Sydney)
- Sheena Calvert (Central St. Martins College of Art)
- Dag Petersson (Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen)
- Hannah Lammin (University of Greenwich)

Plus 12 panels with contributors from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Israel, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, the UK and the United States.

Tuesday, 10 April 2012


8-9 June 2012
K2 Building, London South Bank University, Keyworth Street, London SE1 6NG
Co chaired by Emmanuelle Waeckerle and Richard Sawdon-Smith

International symposium and related live events bringing together theorists, researchers and practitioners to stimulate a dialogue across disciplines on the ability of the book to keep up with digital culture and the emergence of new modes of writing, of photographing, of reading, or archiving and of disseminating ‘on the page’ work. The purpose of this event, a collaboration between the Centre for Media and Cultural Research at LSBU and the bookRoom Research Cluster at UCA Farnham, is to examine the current ‘transforming’ and ‘expanding’ of the page rather than its virtual disintegration.

Keynote speakers
Joan Fontcuberta - photographer, artist and all-round critic of contemporary culture (SP)
Sharon Gallagher - founder / director of D.A.P and ARTBOOK (US)

Special event
John Cage’s Empty Words performed by Sylvia Alexandra Schimag (GER), produced byWandelweiser

List of participants (in alphabetical order)
Andrej Blatnik (SVN) / Sarah Bodman (UK) / Marco Bohr (UK) / Chris Burnett (US) / Daniela Cascella (UK) / Amanda Couch (UK) / Polly Christie, Lisa Chadwick, Natasha Caruana & David Rule (UK) / Arnaud Desjardin (UK) / Matt Hulse & Barnaby Dicker (UK) / Annabel Frearson (UK) / Peter Jaeger (UK) - Paul Jeff & Laura Jenkins (UK) / Susan Johanknecht & Katharine Meynell (UK) / Marcus Kaiser (GER) / Sharon Kivland & Nick Thurston (UK) / Michael Mack (UK) / Didier Mathieu (FRA) / Romi Mikulinsky (AUS) / Christoph Nicolas (GER) / Paula Roush (UK) & Maria Lusitano (SWE) / Mark Sanderson (UK) / Andreas Schmidt (UK) / David W. Speck (UK) / Seekers of Lice (UK) / Paul Soulellis (US) / Stefan Szczelkun (UK) / Rahel Zoller (UK)

Full Conference
Early Bird Rate: £150/£65 concessions
Standard Rate: £200/£100 concessions

Single Day
Early Bird Rate: £80/£35 concessions
Standard Rate: £120/£55 concessions

Performances only
Saturday 9am to 9pm: £15/10 concessions

Early Bird Rate available now until 7th May